Amy Winehouse and Camera Phones are the New Lighters

December 3, 2006

Last week I had the good fortune of being invited to the AOL Music Winter warmer. Amy Winehouse was the highlight for me, but for others the highlights seemed to be the Sugababes and McFly.

Amy Winehouse’s sound reminded me of Lauryn Hill – R&B, hip hop and soul mixed in a lovely way with her lovely voice. It was quite endearing to see her checking herself out on the big screen when she was performing.

My favourite moment however had nothing to do with the music. During McFly’s set they played a slow song and the audience lifted their mobile phones to take shots and shoot videos. The kids in the audience were about 15 – when I was that age, I would have held up my lighter. The lighter has been replaced by the soft glow of mobile phones.

Leave a Reply

